jump to navigation

Killzone 2 Demo Impressions February 7, 2009

Posted by Matthew in Demo, Feature, PS3.
Tags:
trackback

killzone2_1

I’m not going to beat around the bush, this demo left me unimpressed. I never get drawn into hype when it comes to big game releases so I was left scratching my head after a few playthroughs of the demo. The visuals have been highly praised but, while I did find them impressive and very atmospheric, I can thing of a few more that have wowed me more recently – Gears of War 2 immediately springs to mind.  I liked the shooting mechanics, the weapons all have a nice, weighty feel to the way they fire but the cover system felt rather out of place – almost like an afterthought. Also, throughout the whole demo I couldn’t stop thinking about Haze, but that’s probably because the dialogue was on par with it. The demo only contains two short sections and lasts for around 10 minutes. Since the multiplayer is going to be a big focus I would have liked the opportunity to give it a try but that wasn’t included.

I never like comparing demos to the full game but if this is representative of the finished product then I will be slightly disappointed. I have read a few reviews from “big” sites and I saw nothing in this demo that showed it has potential to be in the same league as triple-A shooters such as Halo 3, Half-Life 2 and COD4. It’s almost as if Killzone 2 is receiving special treatment. I won’t be cancelling my preorder or anything drastic like that like that (can’t pass up a special edition steelbook) but my anticipation has lessened after this.

Comments»

1. PC Gamma - February 8, 2009

I wonder how dem grafixs compare to (PS£fanboiam)Crysis…??/?////???

(…on medium)


Leave a Reply

