jump to navigation

Currently Playing… January 19, 2009

Posted by Matthew in Currently Playing, Feature.
Tags:
trackback

STALKER: Shadow of Chernobyl (PC)

Reminding me a lot of Fallout 3, I just wish there was also  a fast travel option rather than having to sprint everywhere. As a first-person shooter it is probably one of the worst I’ve played in ages. The weapons feel weak and underpowered. Enemies soak up bullets before they die whereas you can be dropped in a few hits. The difficulty curve is steep as hell, especially in the first few hours of the game where health/weapons and ammo are scarce. Having said that, the whole setting and atmosphere are fantastic.

Company of Heroes (PC)

I’m not usually a fan of RTS games – mainly because I’m usually shite at them – but this particular one is easily accessable. No daunting tutorials or menus cluttering up the screen, I found this very easy go get into since you are controlling small squads rather than numerous armies. I was pretty much done with WWII games after Call of Duty 3 but this has drawn me back in. Since RTS games are a bit of a time-sink I’m limiting myself to one level per session. I also bought the expansion pack as well but I’ll leave that till after I’ve finished the main campaign.

Moon (DS)

A first-person shooter for the DS.. Pretty much everything I had heard about this was from IGN’s Nintendo Voice-Chat podcast. The only thing I can compare it to is Metroid Prime: Hunters and it isn’t as good, basically. The controls are twitchy, awkward and a tad imprecise but the auto-aim is rather generous which compensates for this. The environments are a little bland and repetitive but I’m getting a System Shock 2 vibe from it, which is only a good thing. Its always interensting to see developers trying something like this on the DS.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

